When you live in a non-Muslim country you must be careful with your food because you can’t eat from anywhere.
We are Muslims and in Islam we can eat and drink anything we like, except drinking Alcohol or eating pork and any kind of meat that wasn’t slaughtered in the Islamic way. Also we can’t eat the food that contains derivatives of these things. All of these things you can found it in the Quran.
Some Muslims don’t know about that and the others don’t care to know, so be careful when you choose your food.
I want to write some instructions which may help Muslims to find halal food:
1- Look for the nearest mosque to your place; it’s the right place to get to know Muslims people.
2- In the mosque Muslims people will tell you where to find the closest place that sells halal meat.
3- If you can’t find halal meat, the best thing to do in this situation is slaughter with your hands
4- You can buy anything from any shop which has a green sign “V” or “suitable for vegetarian” written on it.
5- If you cannot find this sign or this statement don’t forget to read the ingredients.
6- Anything related to pork, beef and chicken like “pork fat, lard or gelatin, beef fat or gelatin” means that thing is not halal.
It’s not easy to know this information about halal food if you are in a new place and you don’t know everything about it.
However you must take care and do your best to find halal food because it is an order from Allah and Prophet Mohammed and we have to follow them.